Foresight — Your Hidden Superpower!

John Smart
2 min readJan 5, 2022

My latest talk, for the Bay Area Future Salon. 45 mins + 35 of Q&A.

This talk is a brief summary of my new book, Introduction to Foresight, Executive Edition, 2021. The talk focuses on personal and team foresight, and the benefits of living schedule-first.

In the Q&A, with Mark Finnern, John Robb, Tyler Gothelf, and others, we also get into some exponential trends, including the misunderstood megatrends of urban densification and dematerialization (D&D).

At 37:16 there are three slides on Exponential Investing, on the value of Custodial Roth IRAs (for your children) and Regular Roths (for yourself), and how to use them to invest like a venture capitalist does, making one big and unique exponential investment bet annually.

I also share an investment I made in 2021 in air taxi stocks. I’m particularly optimistic about air taxis as one key to the future of cities. Right now, most investors don’t even believe they are coming. Five years from now, everyone will know they are coming, and many will see all the benefits they will bring. In my view, now is a good time to place some bets, and do a long term hold. See my 2018 Medium article, Our Amazing Aerial Future, for more on this emerging new industry, just one of many positive exponentials that will increasingly reshape our 21st century lives.

Let me know what you think, my merry and masterful Medium friends!

--

--

John Smart

CEO, Foresight U. Author, The Foresight Guide. Foresight, Empathy, Ethics, Equity, Empowerment, Purpose, Good Society, Evo-Devo, Health, Tech, Personal AIs